Required network segments

NetApp HCI requires a minimum of three network segments: management, storage, and virtualization traffic (which includes virtual machines and vMotion traffic). You can also separate virtual machine and vMotion traffic. These network segments usually exist as logically separated VLANs in the NetApp HCI network infrastructure.

How compute and storage nodes connect to these networks depends on how you design the network and cable the nodes. The sample network illustrations in this guide assume the following networks:

Network name VLAN ID
Management 100
Storage 105
vMotion 107
Virtual machines 200, 201

For the best deployment experience, you should configure a network segment that is available as the native VLAN on all switch ports that are used for NetApp HCI nodes. This enables automatic discovery and configuration. In the network configuration examples in this guide, the management network (VLAN ID 100) is shared for this purpose.

The NetApp Deployment Engine enables you to quickly configure networks for compute and storage nodes during the initial deployment. You can place certain built-in management components such as vCenter and the management node on their own network segment if needed. These network segments require routing to allow vCenter and the management node to communicate with storage and compute management networks. In most deployments those components use the same management network (in this example, VLAN ID 100).

Note: You configure virtual machine networks using vCenter. The default virtual machine network in NetApp HCI deployments uses the same node ports and native VLAN as the vMotion network. If you plan to use multiple tagged virtual machine networks, be sure to include them in the initial network planning.