为公司配置应用程序

了解公司环境中使用的应用程序可以帮助您跟踪资产使用情况并进行成本报告。此处,我们将对公司的应用程序进行配置并将其与相应资产相关联。

关于本任务

在“为公司配置业务实体”一节中,我们创建了一些业务实体,并建议您列出与每个业务实体相关联的所有应用程序。通过 OnCommand Insight,我们可以跟踪与这些应用程序关联的数据以了解相关信息(例如使用情况或成本报告等)。

要跟踪与环境中运行的应用程序相关联的数据,必须首先定义这些应用程序并将其与相应资产相关联。您可以将应用程序与以下资源相关联:主机、虚拟机、卷、内部卷、qtree、共享和虚拟机管理程序。

在本练习中,我们希望跟踪营销团队用于传输其 Exchange 电子邮件的虚拟机的使用情况。您应该记得我们在定义业务实体时创建的下表。现在,让我们在此工作表中添加一列,用于列出每个业务实体使用的应用程序。(此表只是一个工作表示例。在 Insight 中,此业务实体表不会显示“Applications”列。)

租户 业务部门 业务单位 项目 应用程序
NetApp 数据存储 法务 专利 Oracle Identity Manager、Oracle On Demand、PatentWiz
NetApp 数据存储 营销 销售活动 Exchange、Oracle Shared DataBase、BlastOff Event Planner
N/A N/A 安全与安全性 N/A N/A
...        

Insight 中创建应用程序:

步骤

  1. 以具有管理权限的用户身份登录到 Insight。
  2. 选择 “Manage” > “Applications” 。
  3. 单击 “+Add” 按钮。
  4. 输入应用程序的名称(在本示例中,输入“Exchange”)。
  5. 选择应用程序的优先级。
  6. 要将此应用程序与某个业务实体关联起来,请从 “Business Entity” 下拉列表中选择一个业务实体。否则,可以将此项保留为“None”
  7. 要确保每个主机都可以访问集群中相同的卷,请确保选中 “Validate volume sharing” 框。例如,高可用性集群中的主机通常需要对相同的卷屏蔽才能进行故障转移;但是,不相关的应用程序中的主机通常无需访问相同的物理卷。此外,出于安全原因,监管政策可能要求您明确禁止不相关的应用程序访问相同的物理卷。如果不使用卷共享,请清除 “Validate volume sharing” 框。这需要 Assure 许可证。
  8. 单击“Save”。
  9. 对环境中的所有其他应用程序重复上述步骤。

下一步操作

我们发现,营销团队使用 Exchange 应用程序。因此,我们希望了解其 Exchange 的虚拟机利用率,以便预测何时需要添加更多存储。现在,让我们将 Exchange 应用程序与营销团队的所有虚拟机关联起来。为此,最简单的方法就是使用查询。

通过执行以下步骤,可以将每个应用程序与其相应的资产关联起来。

将应用程序与资产相关联:

在创建应用程序并根据需要将其绑定到业务实体后,我们可以将这些应用程序与环境中的资产关联起来。在本示例中,我们会将 Exchange 应用程序与公司的多个虚拟机关联起来。为此,最简单的方法就是使用查询。

  1. 选择 “Queries” > “+New query” 。
  2. 在 “Select Resource Type” 下拉列表中,选择 Virtual Machine
  3. 我们假定营销团队使用字符串“_mktg_”为其资产命名。在“Name”筛选框中,输入“_mktg_”(不带引号),然后单击应用(复选标记)按钮。
  4. 此时将显示包含“_mktg_”字符串的所有虚拟机的列表。
  5. 如果需要,可单击 “More” 下拉列表并添加其他筛选器。
  6. 通过单击所需的每个虚拟机名称旁边的复选框选择用于 Exchange 的虚拟机,或者通过单击列顶部的复选框选择所有虚拟机。
  7. 选择所需虚拟机后,单击 “Actions” 按钮,然后选择 “Add Application” 。
  8. 在“Assign Application”对话框中,单击 “Application” 下拉列表,然后选择“Exchange”
  9. 单击 “Save” 按钮。
  10. 根据需要重复上述操作,以便将 Exchange 应用程序与其他资产(主机、卷等)关联起来。

Configuring applications for your company

Understanding the applications used in your company's environment helps you to keep track of asset usage and report on costs. Here we will configure your company's applications and associate them with the appropriate assets.

About this task

In the Configuring business entities for your company section, we created some business entities, and recommended that you list out all the applications you associate with each business entity. OnCommand Insight allows us to then track data associated with those applications for things like usage or cost reporting.

Before you can track data associated with the applications running in your environment, you must first define those applications and associate them with the appropriate assets. You can associate applications with the following assets: hosts, virtual machines, volumes, internal volumes, qtrees, shares, and hypervisors.

In this walkthrough, we want to track the usage of virtual machines that the Marketing Team uses for its Exchange email. You will remember the following table we created while defining our business entities. Let's add a column to this worksheet listing the applications used by each business entity. (This table is a worksheet example only. You will not see an "Applications" column in the business entities table in Insight.)

Tenant Line of Business Business Unit Project Applications
NetApp Data Storage Legal Patents Oracle Identity Manager, Oracle On Demand, PatentWiz
NetApp Data storage Marketing Sales Events Exchange, Oracle Shared DataBase, BlastOff Event Planner
N/A N/A Safety and Security N/A N/A
...        

Creating applications in Insight:

Steps

  1. Log in to Insight as a user with administrative permissions.
  2. Select Manage > Applications
  3. Click the +Add button
  4. Enter the name of the application (for our example, enter "Exchange")
  5. Select a priority for the application
  6. If you wish to associate the application to a business entity, select one from the Business Entity drop-down. Otherwise, you can leave this as "None".
  7. If you want to ensure each host has access to the same volumes in a cluster, ensure that the Validate volume sharing box is checked. For example, hosts in high-availability clusters often need to be masked to the same volumes to allow for failover; however, hosts in unrelated applications usually have no need to access the same physical volumes. Additionally, regulatory policies might require you to explicitly disallow unrelated applications from accessing the same physical volumes for security reasons. If you do not use volume sharing, clear the Validate volume sharing box. This requires the Assure license.
  8. Click Save.
  9. Repeat for all other Applications in your environment.

After you finish

We see that the Marketing Team uses the Exchange application. We want to see their virtual machine utilization for Exchange, in order to predict when we will need to add more storage. Let's associate the Exchange application with all of Marketing's VM's. The easiest way to accomplish this is through a query.

By following these steps, you can associate each of your applications with their appropriate assets.

Associating Applications to assets:

Now that you have created your applications (and tied them to business entities, as desired), we can now associate those applications with assets in your environment. In this example, we will associate the Exchange application with a number of virtual machines in your company. The easiest way to do this is what a query.

  1. Select Queries > +New query.
  2. In the Select Resource Type drop-down, choose Virtual Machine
  3. We will assume the Marketing team names their assets with the string "_mktg_". In the Name filter box, enter "_mktg_ "(without quotes) and click the apply (checkmark) button.
  4. The list of all VM's with the "_mktg_ "string is shown.
  5. If desired, click the More drop-down and add additional filters.
  6. Select the VM's used for Exchange by clicking in the checkbox beside each desired VM Name, or select all VMs by clicking the checkbox at the top of the column.
  7. When the desired VM's are selected, click the Actions button and choose Add Application.
  8. In the Assign Application dialog, click the Application drop-down and select "Exchange".
  9. Click Save.
  10. Repeat as necessary to associate the Exchange application with other assets (hosts, volumes, etc.)