集群存储

ONTAP 的当前迭代版本最初是为 NetApp 的横向扩展集群存储架构开发的。在 ONTAP 数据中心实施中,您通常可以看到这一架构。由于此实施实现了 ONTAP 的大部分功能,因此它是了解 ONTAP 概念信息的一个很好的切入点。

数据中心架构通常部署专用的 FAS 或 AFF 控制器,用于运行 ONTAP 数据管理软件。每个控制器及其存储、网络连接以及在该控制器上运行的 ONTAP 实例,均称为节点。

节点成对配置,用于实现高可用性 (HA)。这些对(SAN 多达 12 个节点,NAS 多达 24 个节点)共同组成集群。节点彼此通过私有的专用集群互连进行通信。

根据控制器型号的不同,节点存储包含闪存磁盘和/或容量驱动器。控制器上的网络端口支持访问数据。物理存储和网络连接资源已虚拟化,仅对集群管理员可见,对 NAS 客户端或 SAN 主机则不可见。

HA 对中的各个节点必须使用相同型号的存储阵列。另外,您可以使用任何支持的控制器组合。通过添加具有类似型号存储阵列的节点,可以横向扩展性能;或者,通过添加具有更高端存储阵列的节点,可以横向扩展性能。

当然,您也可以根据需要升级磁盘或控制器,采用所有传统方式进行纵向扩展。ONTAP 的虚拟化存储基础架构有助于轻松无中断地移动数据,这意味着您无需停机即可进行纵向或横向扩展。



单节点集群

单节点集群是指在独立节点上运行的集群,它是一种特殊的实施方法。您可能希望在分支机构部署一个单节点集群(例如,假设工作负载足够小且无需顾虑存储可用性)。

在这种情况下,单节点集群会使用 SnapMirror 复制将站点的数据备份到企业的主数据中心。ONTAP Select 支持在商用硬件上运行 ONTAP,因而成为此类实施的理想候选项。

Cluster storage

The current iteration of ONTAP was originally developed for NetApp's scale out cluster storage architecture. This is the architecture you typically find in datacenter implementations of ONTAP. Because this implementation exercises most of ONTAP’s capabilities, it’s a good place to start in understanding the concepts that inform ONTAP technology.

Datacenter architectures usually deploy dedicated FAS or AFF controllers running ONTAP data management software. Each controller, its storage, its network connectivity, and the instance of ONTAP running on the controller is called a node.

Nodes are paired for high availability (HA). Together these pairs (up to 12 nodes for SAN, up to 24 nodes for NAS) comprise the cluster. Nodes communicate with each other over a private, dedicated cluster interconnect.

Depending on the controller model, node storage consists of flash disks, capacity drives, or both. Network ports on the controller provide access to data. Physical storage and network connectivity resources are virtualized, visible to cluster administrators only, not to NAS clients or SAN hosts.

Nodes in an HA pair must use the same storage array model. Otherwise you can use any supported combination of controllers. You can scale out for capacity by adding nodes with like storage array models, or for performance by adding nodes with higher-end storage arrays.

Of course you can scale up in all the traditional ways as well, upgrading disks or controllers as needed. ONTAP's virtualized storage infrastructure makes it easy to move data nondisruptively, meaning that you can scale vertically or horizontally without downtime.



Single-node clusters

A single-node cluster is a special implementation of a cluster running on a standalone node. You might want to deploy a single-node cluster in a branch office, for example, assuming the workloads are small enough and that storage availability is not a critical concern.

In this scenario, the single-node cluster would use SnapMirror replication to back up the site's data to your organization's primary data center. ONTAP Select, with its support for ONTAP running on commodity hardware, would be a good candidate for this type of implementation.