负载平衡

当某一节点上的工作量超过可用资源时,工作负载的性能开始受到延迟的影响。您可以通过增加可用资源(升级磁盘或 CPU)或减少负载(根据需要将卷或 LUN 移动到不同的节点)来管理过载节点。

您也可以使用 ONTAP 存储服务质量 (QoS) 来保证关键工作负载的性能不会因争用资源的工作负载而降级:

吞吐量上限

吞吐量上限用于将工作负载吞吐量限制在最大 IOPS 数或每秒 MB 数以内。在下图中,工作负载 2 的吞吐量上限可确保它不会和工作负载 1 和 3“抢占资源”

策略组用于定义一个或多个工作负载的吞吐量上限。工作负载表示某个存储对象的 I/O 操作,这些存储对象可以是一个卷、一个文件或一个 LUN,或者一个 SVM 中的所有卷、文件或 LUN。您可以在创建策略组时指定上限,也可以在监控工作负载之后再指定。

注:工作负载的吞吐量可能会超出指定上限高达 10%,特别是在工作负载的吞吐量快速变化时尤其如此。为了处理突发事件,上限有可能超过高达 50%。


吞吐量下限

吞吐量下限用于保证工作负载吞吐量不会低于最小 IOPS 数。在下图中,工作负载 1 和工作负载 3 的吞吐量下限可确保始终满足最低吞吐量目标,而不管工作负载 2 的需求如何。

提示:如此示例所示,吞吐量上限会直接限制吞吐量。吞吐量下限会优先应用于设置此下限的工作负载,从而间接限制吞吐量。

工作负载表示卷或 LUN 的 I/O 操作,从 ONTAP 9.3 开始,还可以表示文件的 I/O 操作。定义吞吐量下限的策略组不能应用于 SVM。您可以在创建策略组时指定下限,也可以在监控工作负载之后再指定。

注:如果节点或聚合上的性能容量(余量)不足,或者在执行 volume move trigger-cutover 等关键操作期间,工作负载的吞吐量可能会低于指定的下限。即使有足够的容量可用且未执行关键操作,工作负载的吞吐量也可能会低于指定下限高达 5%。


自适应服务质量 (QoS)

通常,您分配给存储对象的策略组值是固定不变的。如果存储对象的大小发生变化,您需要手动更改此值。例如,如果某个卷中的已用空间量增加,则通常要求为此卷指定的吞吐量上限也相应增加。

自适应服务质量 (QoS) 可以自动根据工作负载大小调整策略组值,从而在工作负载大小发生变化时保持 IOPS 与 TB|GB 之间的比例不变。如果您正在一个大型部署中管理数百或数千个工作负载,则此项优势尤其明显。

通常,您可以使用自适应服务质量 (QoS) 来调整吞吐量上限,但也可以使用它来管理吞吐量下限(当工作负载大小增加时)。工作负载大小可通过为存储对象分配的空间或存储对象的已用空间来表示。
注:在 ONTAP 9.5 及更高版本中,可以将已用空间设置为吞吐量下限。在 ONTAP 9.4 及更早版本中,则不能将其设置为吞吐量下限。

Load balancing

Performance of workloads begins to be affected by latency when the amount of work on a node exceeds the available resources. You can manage an overloaded node by increasing the available resources (upgrading disks or CPU), or by reducing load (moving volumes or LUNs to different nodes as needed).

You can also use ONTAP storage quality of service (QoS) to guarantee that performance of critical workloads is not degraded by competing workloads:

Throughput ceilings

A throughput ceiling limits throughput for a workload to a maximum number of IOPS or MB/s. In the figure below, the throughput ceiling for workload 2 ensures that it does not "bully" workloads 1 and 3.

A policy group defines the throughput ceiling for one or more workloads. A workload represents the I/O operations for a storage object: a volume, file, or LUN, or all the volumes, files, or LUNs in an SVM. You can specify the ceiling when you create the policy group, or you can wait until after you monitor workloads to specify it.

Note: Throughput to workloads might exceed the specified ceiling by up to 10 percent, especially if a workload experiences rapid changes in throughput. The ceiling might be exceeded by up to 50% to handle bursts.


Throughput floors

A throughput floor guarantees that throughput for a workload does not fall below a minimum number of IOPS. In the figure below, the throughput floors for workload 1 and workload 3 ensure that they meet minimum throughput targets, regardless of demand by workload 2.

Tip: As the examples suggest, a throughput ceiling throttles throughput directly. A throughput floor throttles throughput indirectly, by giving priority to the workloads for which the floor has been set.

A workload represents the I/O operations for a volume, LUN, or, starting with ONTAP 9.3, file. A policy group that defines a throughput floor cannot be applied to an SVM. You can specify the floor when you create the policy group, or you can wait until after you monitor workloads to specify it.

Note: Throughput to a workload might fall below the specified floor if there is insufficient performance capacity (headroom) on the node or aggregate, or during critical operations like volume move trigger-cutover. Even when sufficient capacity is available and critical operations are not taking place, throughput to a workload might fall below the specified floor by up to 5 percent.


Adaptive QoS

Ordinarily, the value of the policy group you assign to a storage object is fixed. You need to change the value manually when the size of the storage object changes. An increase in the amount of space used on a volume, for example, usually requires a corresponding increase in the throughput ceiling specified for the volume.

Adaptive QoS automatically scales the policy group value to workload size, maintaining the ratio of IOPS to TBs|GBs as the size of the workload changes. That's a significant advantage when you are managing hundreds or thousands of workloads in a large deployment.

You typically use adaptive QoS to adjust throughput ceilings, but you can also use it to manage throughput floors (when workload size increases). Workload size is expressed as either the allocated space for the storage object or the space used by the storage object.
Note: Used space is available for throughput floors in ONTAP 9.5 and later. It is not supported for throughput floors in ONTAP 9.4 and earlier.