使用 IP 空间的示例

使用 IP 空间的一个常见情形是,存储服务提供商 (SSP) 需要将公司 A 和 B 的客户连接到其内部部署的 ONTAP 集群,并且这两家公司都使用相同的专用 IP 地址范围。

SSP 在集群上为每个客户创建 SVM,并提供从两个 SVM 到公司 A 网络以及从另两个 SVM 到公司 B 网络的专用网络路径。

这类部署如下图所示,它适用于这两家公司都使用非专用 IP 地址范围的情况。然而,图中显示这两家公司都使用相同的专用 IP 地址范围,这会导致出现问题。


仅使用一个 IP 空间的示例不起作用

这两家公司都使用专用 IP 地址子网 10.0.0.0,导致出现以下问题:

为克服这些问题,SSP 在集群上定义了两个 IP 空间,分别用于每家公司。由于不路由跨 IP 空间的流量,因此即使所有 SVM 都在 10.0.0.0 地址空间中配置,但每家公司的数据也会安全路由到各自的网络,如下图所示:


正确使用两个 IP 空间的示例

此外,各种配置文件(例如,/etc/hosts/etc/hosts.equiv/etc/rc 文件)引用的 IP 地址与该 IP 空间相关。因此,IP 空间使 SSP 能够为多个 SVM 的配置和身份验证数据配置相同的 IP 地址,而不存在冲突。

Example of using IPspaces

A common application for using IPspaces is when a Storage Service Provider (SSP) needs to connect customers of companies A and B to an ONTAP cluster on the SSP's premises and both companies are using the same private IP address ranges.

The SSP creates SVMs on the cluster for each customer and provides a dedicated network path from two SVMs to company A’s network and from the other two SVMs to company B’s network.

This type of deployment is shown in the following illustration, and it works if both companies use non-private IP address ranges. However, the illustration shows both companies using the same private IP address ranges, which causes problems.


Example where using only one IPspace does not work

Both companies use the private IP address subnet 10.0.0.0, causing the following problems:

To overcome these problems, the SSP defines two IPspaces on the cluster—one for each company. Because no cross-IPspace traffic is routed, the data for each company is securely routed to its respective network even if all of the SVMs are configured in the 10.0.0.0 address space, as shown in the following illustration:


Example of using two IPspaces correctly

Additionally, the IP addresses referred to by the various configuration files, such as the /etc/hosts file, the /etc/hosts.equiv file, and the /etc/rc file, are relative to that IPspace. Therefore, the IPspaces enable the SSP to configure the same IP address for the configuration and authentication data for multiple SVMs, without conflict.