什么是 NVMe

非易失性快速内存 (NVMe) 协议是一种用于访问非易失性存储介质的传输协议。如果存储设备与主机操作系统或应用程序驻留在同一物理机箱中,并且可以直接通过 PCIe 进行连接(例如在服务器或笔记本计算机中),则可以使用此接口。

NVMe 是一种标准化接口,可使应用程序通过 PCI Express (PCIe) 连接与非易失性内存数据存储进行通信。

基于网络结构的 NVMe (NVMeoF) 是 NVMe 的一种规范化扩展,用于通过 PCIe 以外的连接进行基于 NVMe 的通信。通过此接口,可将外部存储机箱直接或经由交换机连接到服务器,同时仍然使用 NVMe 作为基础通信机制。

NVMe 经过专门设计,可用于高效访问采用各种非易失性内存技术的存储设备,这些技术不仅包括闪存技术,也包括性能更高的持久性内存技术。因此,它克服了针对硬盘驱动器设计的存储协议的局限性。闪存和固态设备 (SSD) 是一种非易失性内存 (NVM)。NVM 是一种可以在断电期间保持其内容不受影响的内存。您可以通过 NVMe 访问此类内存。

NVMe 的优势众多,包括提高了数据传输的速度、工作效率、吞吐量和容量等。具体特征如下:

What NVMe is

The nonvolatile memory express (NVMe) protocol is a transport protocol used for accessing nonvolatile storage media. This interface is used when the storage devices reside in the same physical enclosure as the host operating system or application and can be directly connected by PCIe, such as in servers or laptop computers.

NVMe is the standardized interface for applications to communicate with nonvolatile memory data storage using a PCI express (PCIe) connection.

NVMe over Fabrics (NVMeoF) is a specification-defined extension to NVMe that enables NVMe-based communication over connections other than PCIe. This interface allows for external storage enclosures to be connected to a server, either directly or through a switch, while still using NVMe as the fundamental communication mechanism.

NVMe is designed to provide efficient access to storage devices built with non-volatile memory, from flash technology to higher performing, persistent memory technologies. As such, it does not have the same limitations as storage protocols designed for hard disk drives. Flash and solid state devices (SSDs) are a type of non-volatile memory (NVM). NVM is a type of memory that keeps its content during a power outage. NVMe is a way that you can access that memory.

The benefits of NVMe include increased speeds, productivity, throughput, and capacity for data transfer. Specific characteristics include the following: