了解 LUN 克隆

LUN 克隆是父 LUN 下占用空间较少的可写克隆。由于克隆操作不包括以物理方式复制任何数据,创建 LUN 克隆可显著节省时间和空间。克隆有助于提高物理聚合空间的空间存储利用率。

无需在 SAN 环境中备份任何 Snapshot 副本即可克隆一个完整 LUN。克隆操作可以瞬时完成,访问父 LUN 的客户端不会遇到任何中断或停机。客户端可以对父实体和克隆实体执行所有常规 LUN 操作。客户端对父 LUN 和克隆 LUN 均具有直接读写访问权限。

克隆与其父 LUN 共享数据块,在客户端向父 LUN 或克隆写入新数据之前,克隆占用的存储空间几乎可以忽略不计。默认情况下,LUN 克隆会继承父 LUN 的空间预留属性。例如,如果在父 LUN 上禁用了空间预留,则也会在 LUN 克隆上禁用预留空间。

注:在克隆 LUN 时,必须确保卷具有足够的空间来容纳 LUN 克隆。

Understanding LUN clones

LUN clones are writable, space-efficient clones of parent LUNs. Creating LUN clones is highly space-efficient and time-efficient because the cloning operation does not involve physically copying any data. Clones help in space storage utilization of the physical aggregate space.

You can clone a complete LUN without the need of a backing Snapshot copy in a SAN environment. The cloning operation is instantaneous and clients that are accessing the parent LUN do not experience any disruption or outage. Clients can perform all normal LUN operations on both parent entities and clone entities. Clients have immediate read/write access to both the parent and cloned LUN.

Clones share the data blocks of their parent LUNs and occupy negligible storage space until clients write new data either to the parent LUN, or to the clone. By default, the LUN clone inherits the space reserved attribute of the parent LUN. For example, if space reservation is disabled on the parent LUN, then space reservation is also disabled on the LUN clone.

Note: When you clone a LUN, you must ensure that the volume has enough space to contain the LUN clone.