Unjoining the original nodes from the cluster

After the volumes have been moved to the new nodes, you unjoin the original nodes from the cluster. When you unjoin a node, the node's configuration is erased and all disks are initialized.

Steps

  1. Disable high-availability configuration on the original nodes: storage failover modify -node original_node_name -enabled false
  2. Access the advanced privilege level: set -privilege advanced
  3. Identify the node that has epsilon: cluster show
    In the following example, "node0" currently holds epsilon:
    cluster::*>
    Node                 Health  Eligibility  Epsilon
    -------------------- ------- ------------ ------------
    node0                true    true         true
    node1                true    true         false
    node2                true    true         false
    node3                true    true         false
    
  4. If one of the original nodes holds epsilon, move epsilon to a different node:
    1. Remove epsilon from the original node: cluster modify -node original_node_name -epsilon false
    2. Assign epsilon to a different node: cluster modify -node new_node_name -epsilon true
  5. From a node that will remain in the cluster, unjoin each original node from the cluster (advanced privilege level): cluster unjoin -node original_node_name
    The system displays a message similar to the following:
    Warning: This command will unjoin node node_name from the cluster. You
             must unjoin the failover partner as well. After the node is
             successfully unjoined, erase its configuration and initialize all
             disks by using the "Clean configuration and initialize all disks (4)"
             option from the boot menu.
             Do you want to continue? {y|n}: y 
    
  6. Enter y to continue.
    The unjoined node is automatically rebooted and stops at the boot menu.
  7. From the unjoined node's boot menu, select option (4) Clean configuration and initialize all disks to erase the node's configuration and initialize all disks.
    The system displays a message similar to the following:
    Zero disks, reset config and install a new file system?:
    This will erase all the data on the disks, are you sure?:
    
  8. Enter y at both prompts.
  9. If the cluster has only two nodes remaining, configure high availability for the two-node cluster: cluster ha modify -configured true