Rolling back volumes to a group snapshot

You can roll back a group of active volumes to a group snapshot. This restores all the associated volumes in a group snapshot to their state at the time the group snapshot was created. This procedure also restores volume sizes to the size recorded in the original snapshot. If the system has purged a volume, all snapshots of that volume were also deleted at the time of the purge; the system does not restore any deleted volume snapshots.

Steps

  1. Select NetApp Element Management > Protection.
    Note: If two or more clusters are added, ensure that the cluster you intend to use for the task is selected in the navigation bar.
  2. Click the Group Snapshots sub-tab.
  3. Select the check box for the group snapshot you wish to use for the volume clones.
  4. Click Actions.
  5. In the resulting menu, select Rollback Volumes to Group Snapshot.
  6. Optional: To save the current state of the volumes before rolling back to the snapshot:
    1. In the Rollback To Snapshot dialog box, select Save volumes' current state as a group snapshot.
    2. Enter a name for the new group snapshot.
  7. Click OK.