Deleting a snapshot

You can delete a volume snapshot from a cluster running NetApp Element software using the NetApp Element Management extension point. When you delete a snapshot, the system immediately removes it.

About this task

You can delete snapshots that are being replicated from the source cluster. If a snapshot is syncing to the target cluster when you delete it, the sync replication completes and the snapshot is deleted from the source cluster. The snapshot is not deleted from the target cluster.

You can also delete snapshots that have been replicated to the target from the target cluster. The deleted snapshot is kept in a list of deleted snapshots on the target until the system detects that you have deleted the snapshot on the source cluster. After the target has detected that you have deleted the source snapshot, the target stops replication of the snapshot.

Steps

  1. Select NetApp Element Management > Protection.
    Note: If two or more clusters are added, ensure that the cluster you intend to use for the task is selected in the navigation bar.
  2. From the Snapshots sub-tab, select one of two views:
    • Individual: A list of volume snapshots that are not part of a group snapshot.
    • Inactive: A list of volume snapshots that were created from volumes that have been deleted but not yet purged.
    Note: You cannot delete individual members of a group snapshot from the Snapshots sub-tab. You must instead delete the group snapshot. During group snapshot deletion, you are given the option to convert members of a group snapshot to individual (group snapshot unaffiliated) snapshots.
  3. Select the check box for the volume snapshot you want to delete.
  4. Click Actions.
  5. In the resulting menu, select Delete.
  6. Confirm the action.