Deleting a volume

You can delete one or more volumes from a SolidFire cluster.

About this task

The system does not immediately purge a deleted volume; the volume remains available for approximately eight hours. If you restore a volume before the system purges it, the volume comes back online and iSCSI connections are restored.

If a volume used to create a snapshot is deleted, its associated snapshots become inactive. When the deleted source volumes are purged, the associated inactive snapshots are also removed from the system.

Steps

  1. Select Management > Volumes.
  2. To delete a single volume, perform the following steps:
    1. Click the Actions icon for the volume you want to delete.
    2. In the resulting menu, click Delete.
    3. Confirm the action.
    The system moves the volume to the Deleted area on the Volumes page.
  3. To delete multiple volumes, perform the following steps:
    1. In the list of volumes, check the box next to any volumes you want to delete.
    2. Click Bulk Actions.
    3. In the resulting menu, click Delete.
    4. Confirm the action.
      The system moves the volumes to the Deleted area on the Volumes page.