Removing a file system

Depending on your deployment plan, client activity, and overall system performance, you might need to remove a file system from the NAS Bridge node.

Before you begin

All of the clients must be unmounted from the NFS exports or SMB shares exposed by the file system.

About this task

To remove a file system from the NAS Bridge node, you must first unmount it. Unmounting a file system makes it unavailable to the storage clients, but does not delete the StorageGRID Webscale bucket or modify the files in the bucket. You cannot remount a file system after you have unmounted it.

Steps

  1. Click Configuration at the top of the web page.
  2. Depending on the file system, click NFS Filesystems or SMB Filesystems.
  3. Under Actions, click the unmount icon icon for the file system you want to remove.
    A confirmation dialog box is displayed, reminding you that you can no longer access the file system after it has been unmounted.
  4. Click Unmount to confirm your action.
    When the operation completes, the status of the file system changes to UNMOUNTED. The file system is flushed as part of the unmount operation; all of the data in the cache is written to the permanent object store.
    This image is described by the surrounding text.
  5. Under Actions, click the delete icon icon for the file system you want to remove.
    The file system is deleted and removed from the page.
  6. When you are done making changes, export the configuration file.
    1. Click Maintenance > Configuration Exports .
    2. Click Generate Export.
    3. Click the download icon to download the file to your local workstation.
    4. Save the configuration file to a safe location.
      You will need this file to recover the NAS Bridge configuration in case of a failure.

After you finish

After removing the file system, the StorageGRID Webscale bucket that had been associated with the file system still exists. If you add a new file system with the same bucket, the previous file data is retrieved and exported. However, if the file data is no longer needed, you should delete the bucket using a tool outside of NAS Bridge, such as an S3-compliant file browser.