Deleting a Cloud Volumes ONTAP working environment

Contributors netapp-bcammett netapp-tonacki Download PDF of this page

You should always delete Cloud Volumes ONTAP systems from Cloud Manager, rather than from your cloud provider’s console. For example, if you terminate a licensed Cloud Volumes ONTAP instance from your cloud provider, then you can’t use the license key for another instance. You must delete the working environment from Cloud Manager to release the license.

When you delete a working environment, Cloud Manager terminates Cloud Volumes ONTAP instances and deletes disks and snapshots.

Resources managed by other services like backups for Cloud Backup and instances for Cloud Data Sense and Monitoring are not deleted when you delete a working environment. You’ll need to manually delete them yourself. If you don’t, then you’ll continue to receive charges for these resources.

Cloud Volumes ONTAP instances have termination protection enabled to help prevent accidental termination from AWS. However, if you do terminate a Cloud Volumes ONTAP instance from AWS, you must go to the AWS CloudFormation console and delete the instance’s stack. The stack name is the name of the working environment.
Steps
  1. If you enabled Cloud Backup on the working environment, determine whether the backed up data is still required and then delete the backups, if necessary.

    Cloud Backup is independent from Cloud Volumes ONTAP by design. Cloud Backup doesn’t automatically delete backups when you delete a Cloud Volumes ONTAP system, and there is no current support in the UI to delete the backups after the system has been deleted.

  2. If you enabled Cloud Data Sense or Monitoring on this working environment and no other working environments use those services, then you’ll need to delete the instances for those services.

  3. Delete the Cloud Volumes ONTAP working environment.

    1. On the Canvas page, double-click the name of the Cloud Volumes ONTAP working environment that you want to delete.

    2. Click menu icon and then click Delete.

      A screenshot that shows the menu available from the working environment that contains the Delete action.

    3. Type the name of the working environment and then click Delete.

      It can take up to 5 minutes to delete the working environment.