Managing sync relationships

Contributors netapp-bcammett Download PDF of this page

You can manage sync relationships at any time by immediately syncing data, changing schedules, and more.

Performing an immediate data sync

Rather than wait for the next scheduled sync, you can press a button to immediately sync data between the source and target.

Steps
  1. From the Sync Dashboard, hover over the sync relationship and click the action menu.

    A screenshot that shows the action menu that appears when you hover your mouse over a sync relationship.

  2. Click Sync Now and then click Sync to confirm.

    This screenshot shows the actions that you can perform on a sync relationship.

Result

Cloud Sync starts the data sync process for the relationship.

Accelerating sync performance

Accelerate the performance of a sync relationship by adding an additional data broker to the relationship. The additional data broker must be a new data broker.

How this works

If the existing data brokers in the relationship are used in other sync relationships, then Cloud Sync automatically adds the new data broker to those relationships, as well.

For example, let’s say you have three relationships:

  • Relationship 1 uses data broker A

  • Relationship 2 uses data broker B

  • Relationship 3 uses data broker A

You want to accelerate the performance of relationship 1 so you add a new data broker to that relationship (data broker C). Because data broker A is also used in relationship 3, the new data broker is automatically added to relationship 3, as well.

Steps
  1. Ensure that at least one of the existing data brokers in the relationship are online.

  2. Hover over the sync relationship and click the action menu.

  3. Click Accelerate.

    A screenshot of Cloud Sync that shows the action menu for a sync relationship. Accelerate is highlighted with the mouse pointer.

  4. Follow the prompts to create a new data broker.

Result

Cloud Sync adds the new data broker to the sync relationships. The performance of the next data sync should be accelerated.

Updating credentials

You can update the data broker with the latest credentials of the source or target in an existing sync relationship. Updating the credentials can help if your security policies require you to update credentials on a periodic basis.

Updating credentials is supported with any source or target that Cloud Sync requires credentials for: Azure Blob, IBM Cloud Object Storage, StorageGRID, ONTAP S3 Storage, SFTP, and SMB servers.

Steps
  1. From the Sync Dashboard, go to a sync relationship that requires credentials and then click Update Credentials.

    A screenshot that shows the Update Credentials option on the Sync Relationships page just under the name of the source or target.

  2. Enter the credentials and click Update.

    A note about SMB servers: if the domain is new, then you’ll need to specify it when you update the credentials. If the domain hasn’t changed, then you don’t need to enter it again.

    If you entered a domain when you created the sync relationship, but you don’t enter a new domain when you update the credentials, then Cloud Sync will keep using the original domain that you provided.

Result

Cloud Sync updates the credentials on the data broker. It can take up 10 minutes until the data broker starts using the updated credentials for data syncs.

Changing the settings for a sync relationship

Modify settings that define how source files and folders are synced and maintained in the target location.

  1. Hover over the sync relationship and click the action menu.

  2. Click Settings.

  3. Modify any of the settings.

    A screenshot that shows the settings for a sync relationship.

    Here’s a brief description of each setting:

    Schedule

    Choose a recurring schedule for future syncs or turn off the sync schedule. You can schedule a relationship to sync data as often as every 1 minute.

    Retries

    Define the number of times that Cloud Sync should retry to sync a file before skipping it.

    Compare By

    Choose whether Cloud Sync should compare certain attributes when determining whether a file or directory has changed and should be synced again.

    Even if you uncheck these attributes, Cloud Sync still compares the source to the target by checking the paths, file sizes, and file names. If there are any changes, then it syncs those files and directories.

    You can choose to enable or disable Cloud Sync from comparing the following attributes:

    • mtime: The last modified time for a file. This attribute isn’t valid for directories.

    • uid, gid, and mode: Permission flags for Linux.

    Copy for Objects

    You can’t edit this option after you create the relationship.

    Recently Modified Files

    Choose to exclude files that were recently modified prior to the scheduled sync.

    Delete Files on Source

    Choose to delete files from the source location after Cloud Sync copies the files to the target location. This option includes the risk of data loss because the source files are deleted after they’re copied.

    If you enable this option, you also need to change a parameter in the local.json file on the data broker. Open the file and change the parameter named workers.transferrer.delete-on-source to true.

    Delete Files on Target

    Choose to delete files from the target location, if they were deleted from the source. The default is to never deletes files from the target location.

    File Types

    Define the file types to include in each sync: files, directories, and symbolic links.

    Exclude File Extensions

    Specify file extensions to exclude from the sync by typing the file extension and pressing Enter. For example, type log or .log to exclude *.log files. A separator isn’t required for multiple extensions. The following video provides a short demo:

    File Size

    Choose to sync all files regardless of their size or just files that are in a specific size range.

    Date Modified

    Choose all files regardless of their last modified date, files modified after a specific date, before a specific date, or between a time range.

    Copy Access Control Lists to the target

    Choose to copy access control lists (ACLs) between source SMB shares and target SMB shares. Note that this option is only available for sync relationships created after the 23 Feb 2020 release.

  4. Click Save Settings.

Result

Cloud Sync modifies the sync relationship with the new settings.

Deleting relationships

You can delete a sync relationship, if you no longer need to sync data between the source and target. This action does not delete the data broker instance and it does not delete data from the target.

Steps
  1. Hover over the sync relationship and click the action menu.

  2. Click Delete and then click Delete again to confirm.

Result

Cloud Sync deletes the sync relationship.