Delete volume

Typically, you delete volumes if the volumes were created with the wrong parameters or capacity, no longer meet storage configuration needs, or are snapshot images that are no longer needed for backup or application testing. Deleting a volume increases the free capacity in the pool or volume group. You can select one or more volumes to delete.

Before you begin

On the volumes that you plan to delete, make sure of the following:

About this task

You cannot delete a volume that has one of these conditions:

Attention: Deleting a volume causes loss of all data on those volumes.
Note: When a volume exceeds a given size (currently 128 TB) the delete is being performed in background and the freed space may not be immediately available.

Procedure

  1. Select Storage > Volumes.
  2. Click Delete.
    The Delete Volumes dialog box appears.
  3. Select one or more volumes that you want to delete, and confirm that you want to perform the operation.
  4. Click Delete.

Result

System Manager performs the following actions: