Disable snapshot volume

You can disable a snapshot volume or a snapshot volume in a snapshot consistency group when you no longer need it or want to temporarily stop using it.

About this task

Use the Disable option if one of these conditions applies:

If the snapshot volume or snapshot consistency group snapshot volume is designated as read-write, this option also lets you stop any further write activity to its associated reserved capacity volume. If you decide to re-create the snapshot volume or snapshot consistency group snapshot volume, you must choose a snapshot image from the same base volume.

Note: If the snapshot volume or snapshot consistency group snapshot volume is part of an online copy relationship, you cannot perform the Disable option on the volume.

Procedure

  1. Select Storage > Snapshots.
  2. Select the Snapshot Volumes tab.

    System Manager displays all the snapshot volumes associated with the storage array.

  3. Select the snapshot volume that you want to disable, and then select Uncommon Tasks > Disable.
  4. Confirm that you want to perform the operation, and then click Disable.

Result