Delete host or host cluster

You can delete a host or host cluster.

About this task

Keep these guidelines in mind when you delete a host or a host cluster:
  • Any specific volume assignments are deleted, and the associated volumes are available for a new assignment.
  • If the host is part of a host cluster that has its own specific assignments, the host cluster is unaffected. However, if the host is part of a host cluster that does not have any other assignments, the host cluster and any other associated hosts or host port identifiers inherit any default assignments.
  • Any host port identifiers that were associated with the host become undefined.

Procedure

  1. Select Storage > Hosts.
  2. Select the host or host cluster that you want to delete, and then click Delete.
    The confirmation dialog box appears.
  3. Confirm that you want to perform the operation, and then click Delete.

Result

If you deleted a host, the system performs the following actions:

  • Deletes the host and, if applicable, removes it from the host cluster.
  • Removes access to any assigned volumes.
  • Returns the associated volumes to an unassigned state.
  • Returns any host port identifiers associated with the host to an unassociated state.

If you deleted a host cluster, the system performs the following actions: