What happens to local users and groups when deleting CIFS servers

The default set of local users and groups is created when a CIFS server is created, and they are associated with the storage virtual machine (SVM) hosting the CIFS server. SVM administrators can create local users and groups at any time. You need to be aware of what happens to local users and groups when you delete the CIFS server.

Local users and groups are associated with SVMs; therefore, they are not deleted when CIFS servers are deleted due to security considerations. Although local users and groups are not deleted when the CIFS server is deleted, they are hidden. You cannot view or manage local users and groups until you re-create a CIFS server on the SVM.

Note: The CIFS server administrative status does not affect visibility of local users or groups.