volume delete

Delete an existing volume

Availability: This command is available to cluster and Vserver administrators at the admin privilege level.

Description

The volume delete command deletes the specified volumes. Before deleting a volume, the user is prompted to confirm the operation unless the -force flag is specified. If this volume was associated with a policy group the underlying qos workload is deleted.
Note:
  • If there is a qtree or quota policy associated with a volume, it is deleted when you delete the volume.
  • A volume must be offline (see volume offline) to be deleted.

Parameters

-vserver <vserver name> - Vserver Name
This specifies the name of the Vserver from which the volume is to be deleted. If only one data Vserver exists, you do not need to specify this parameter.
-volume <volume name> - Volume Name
This specifies the name of the volume that is to be deleted.
[-force [true]] - Force Delete (privilege: advanced)
If this parameter is specified, the user is not prompted to confirm each deletion operation. In addition, the operation is run only on the local node, and several potential errors are ignored. By default, this setting is false. This parameter is available only at the advanced privilege level and higher.
[-foreground {true|false}] - Foreground Process
This specifies whether the operation runs in the foreground. The default setting is true (the operation runs in the foreground). When set to true, the command will not return until the operation completes.

Examples

The following example deletes a volume named vol1_old from a Vserver named vs0:
cluster1::> volume delete -vserver vs0 -volume vol1_old