客户端协议

ONTAP 支持所有主要的行业标准客户端协议: NFS 、 SMB/CIFS 、 FC 、 FCoE 、 iSCSI 和 NVME/FC 。

NFS

NFS 是 UNIX 和 Linux 系统的传统文件访问协议。客户端可以使用 NFSv3 、 NFSv4 、 NFS4.1 和 pNFS 协议访问 ONTAP 卷中的文件。您可以使用 UNIX 风格的权限、 NTFS 样式的权限或两者的组合来控制文件访问。

客户端可以使用 NFS 和 SMB/CIFS 协议访问相同的文件。

SMB/CIFS

SMB/CIFS 是 Windows 系统的传统文件访问协议。客户端可以使用 SMB 2.0 、 SMB 2.1 、 SMB 3.0 和 SMB 3.1.1 协议访问 ONTAP 卷中的文件。与 NFS 一样、支持混合的权限样式。

ONTAP 9.3 和更高版本中提供了 SMB 1.0 但默认情况下禁用了 SMB 1.0 。

FC

光纤通道是最初的网络块协议。块协议不是文件、而是将整个虚拟磁盘呈现给客户端。传统的 FC 协议使用专用 FC 网络和专用 FC 交换机、并要求客户端计算机具有 FC 网络接口。

LUN 表示虚拟磁盘、一个或多个 LUN 存储在 ONTAP 卷中。同一 LUN 可以通过 FC 、 FCoE 和 iSCSI 协议访问、但只有当多个客户端是防止写入冲突的集群的一部分时才能访问同一 LUN 。

FCoE

FCoE 与 FC 基本相同,但使用数据中心级以太网网络代替传统的 FC 传输。客户端仍需要 FCoE 特定的网络接口。

iSCSI

iSCSI 是可在标准以太网网络上运行的块协议。大多数客户端操作系统都提供了一个软件启动程序、该启动程序通过标准以太网端口运行。当您需要特定应用程序的块协议、但没有专用 FC 网络连接时、 iSCSI 是理想的选择。

NVMe/FC

最新的块协议 NVME/FC 专门设计用于基于闪存的存储。它提供可扩展的会话、显著降低延迟和提高并行性、使其非常适合内存数据库和分析等低延迟和高吞吐量应用程序。

与 FC 和 iSCSI 不同、 NVMe 不使用 LUN 。而是使用存储在 ONTAP 卷中的命名空间。NVMe 命名空间只能通过 NVMe 协议访问。

Client protocols

ONTAP supports all major industry-standard client protocols: NFS, SMB/CIFS, FC, FCoE, iSCSI, and NVMe/FC.

NFS

NFS is the traditional file access protocol for UNIX and LINUX systems. Clients can access files in ONTAP volumes using the NFSv3, NFSv4, NFSv4.1, and pNFS protocols. You can control file access using UNIX-style permissions, NTFS-style permissions, or a mix of both.

Clients can access the same files using both NFS and SMB/CIFS protocols.

SMB/CIFS

SMB/CIFS is the traditional file access protocol for Windows systems. Clients can access files in ONTAP volumes using the SMB 2.0, SMB 2.1, SMB 3.0, and SMB 3.1.1 protocols. Just like with NFS, a mix of permission styles are supported.

SMB 1.0 is available but disabled by default in ONTAP 9.3 and later releases.

FC

Fibre Channel is the original networked block protocol. Instead of files, a block protocol presents an entire virtual disk to a client. The traditional FC protocol uses a dedicated FC network with specialized FC switches, and requires the client computer to have FC network interfaces.

A LUN represents the virtual disk, and one or more LUNs are stored in an ONTAP volume. The same LUN can be accessed through the FC, FCoE, and iSCSI protocols, but multiple clients can access the same LUN only if they are part of a cluster that prevents write collisions.

FCoE

FCoE is basically the same protocol as FC, but uses a datacenter-grade Ethernet network in place of the traditional FC transport. The client still requires an FCoE-specific network interface.

iSCSI

iSCSI is a block protocol that can run on standard Ethernet networks. Most client operating systems offer a software initiator that runs over a standard Ethernet port. iSCSI is a good choice when you need a block protocol for a particular application, but do not have dedicated FC networking available.

NVMe/FC

The newest block protocol, NVMe/FC, is specifically designed to work with flash-based storage. It offers scalable sessions, a significant reduction in latency, and an increase in parallelism, making it well suited to low-latency and high-throughput applications such as in-memory databases and analytics.

Unlike FC and iSCSI, NVMe does not use LUNs. Instead it uses namespaces, which are stored in an ONTAP volume. NVMe namespaces can be accessed only through the NVMe protocol.