了解 FlexVol 卷的转储引擎

Dump 是一款基于 Snapshot 副本的 ONTAP 备份和恢复解决方案、可帮助您将文件和目录从 Snapshot 副本备份到磁带设备并将备份的数据恢复到存储系统。

您可以使用转储备份将文件系统数据(例如目录、文件及其关联的安全性设置)备份到磁带设备。您可以备份整个卷、整个 qtree,也可以备份整个卷或整个 qtree 的子树。

转储不支持无限卷的备份和还原。

您可以使用 NDMP 兼容的备份应用程序执行转储备份或还原。

执行转储备份时,可以指定用于某个备份的 Snapshot 副本。如果未指定用于该备份的 Snapshot 副本,转储引擎将创建一个用于该备份的 Snapshot 副本。备份操作完成后,转储引擎将删除此 Snapshot 副本。

您可以使用转储引擎对磁带执行级别 0 备份、增量备份或差异备份。
注:还原到低于 Data ONTAP 8.3 的版本时,必须执行基线备份操作,然后才能执行增量备份操作。

Understanding dump engine for FlexVol volumes

Dump is a Snapshot copy based backup and recovery solution from ONTAP that helps you to back up files and directories from a Snapshot copy to a tape device and restore the backed up data to a storage system.

You can back up your file system data, such as directories, files, and their associated security settings, to a tape device by using the dump backup. You can back up an entire volume, an entire qtree, or a subtree that is neither an entire volume nor an entire qtree.

You can perform a dump backup or restore by using NDMP-compliant backup applications.

When you perform a dump backup, you can specify the Snapshot copy to be used for a backup. If you do not specify a Snapshot copy for the backup, the dump engine creates a Snapshot copy for the backup. After the backup operation is completed, the dump engine deletes this Snapshot copy.

You can perform level-0, incremental, or differential backups to tape by using the dump engine.
Note: After reverting to a release earlier than Data ONTAP 8.3, you must perform a baseline backup operation before performing an incremental backup operation.