转储引擎备份的数据类型

利用转储引擎,您可以将数据备份到磁带上、以防止灾难或控制器中断。除了备份数据对象(例如文件、目录、 qtree 或整个卷)之外、转储引擎还可以备份有关每个文件的许多类型的信息。了解转储引擎可以备份的数据类型以及要考虑的限制可以帮助您规划灾难恢复的方法。

除备份文件中的数据以外,转储引擎还可以备份各个文件的以下相关信息(如果适用):

注:当 Snapshot 支持的 LUN 克隆从以 7 模式运行的 Data ONTAP 过渡到 ONTAP 时,它将成为不一致的 LUN 。转储引擎不会备份不一致的 LUN 。

将数据还原到某个卷时,会针对当前还原的 LUN 限制客户端 I/O。仅当转储还原操作完成后,才会删除 LUN 限制。同样,在 SnapMirror 单个文件或 LUN 还原操作期间,会针对当前还原的文件和 LUN 限制客户端 I/O。仅当单个文件或 LUN 还原操作完成后,才会删除此限制。如果在执行转储还原或 SnapMirror 单文件或 LUN 还原操作的卷上执行转储备份、则备份中不包括具有客户端 I/O 限制的文件或 LUN 。当客户端 I/O 限制被删除后,会将这些文件或 LUN 包括在后续备份操作中。

注:在 Data ONTAP 8.3 上运行并备份到磁带的 LUN 只能还原到 8.3 和更高版本、而不能还原到早期版本。如果 LUN 恢复到较早的版本,则 LUN 将作为文件还原。

当您将某个 SnapVault 二级卷或卷 SnapMirror 目标备份到磁带时,只会备份该卷上的数据。不会备份关联的元数据。因此,当您尝试还原该卷时,只会还原该卷上的数据。由于无法在备份中获取与卷 SnapMirror 关系有关的信息,因此不会还原此信息。

如果您转储一个仅具有 Windows NT 权限的文件并将其还原到一个 UNIX 模式的 qtree 或卷,该文件将得到该 qtree 或该卷的默认 UNIX 权限。

如果您转储一个仅具有 UNIX 权限的文件并将其还原到一个 NTFS 模式的 qtree 或卷,该文件将得到该 qtree 或该卷的默认 Windows 权限。

其他转储和还原将保留权限。

您可以备份虚拟机对齐的文件和 vm-align-sector 选项。有关 VM 对齐文件的详细信息、请参见《《逻辑存储管理指南》》。

逻辑存储管理

Types of data that the dump engine backs up

The dump engine enables you to back up data to tape to guard against disasters or controller disruptions. In addition to backing up data objects such as a files, directories, qtrees, or entire volumes, the dump engine can back up many types of information about each file. Knowing the types of data that the dump engine can back up and the restrictions to take into consideration can help you plan your approach to disaster recovery.

In addition to backing up data in files, the dump engine can back up the following information about each file, as applicable:

Note: When a snapshot-backed LUN clone is transitioned from Data ONTAP operating in 7-Mode to ONTAP, it becomes an inconsistent LUN. The dump engine does not back up inconsistent LUNs.

When you restore data to a volume, client I/O is restricted on the LUNs being restored. The LUN restriction is removed only when the dump restore operation is complete. Similarly, during a SnapMirror single file or LUN restore operation, client I/O is restricted on both files and LUNs being restored. This restriction is removed only when the single file or LUN restore operation is complete. If a dump backup is performed on a volume on which a dump restore or SnapMirror single file or LUN restore operation is being performed, then the files or LUNs that have client I/O restriction are not included in the backup. These files or LUNs are included in a subsequent backup operation if the client I/O restriction is removed.

Note: A LUN running on Data ONTAP 8.3 that is backed up to tape can be restored only to 8.3 and later releases and not to an earlier release. If the LUN is restored to an earlier release, then the LUN is restored as a file.

When you back up a SnapVault secondary volume or a volume SnapMirror destination to tape, only the data on the volume is backed up. The associated metadata is not backed up. Therefore, when you try to restore the volume, only the data on that volume is restored. Information about the volume SnapMirror relationships is not available in the backup and therefore is not restored.

If you dump a file that has only Windows NT permissions and restore it to a UNIX-style qtree or volume, the file gets the default UNIX permissions for that qtree or volume.

If you dump a file that has only UNIX permissions and restore it to an NTFS-style qtree or volume, the file gets the default Windows permissions for that qtree or volume.

Other dumps and restores preserve permissions.

You can back up VM-aligned files and the vm-align-sector option. For more information about VM-aligned files, see the Logical Storage Management Guide.

Logical storage management