设置预留百分比的注意事项

预留百分比(又称 LUN 覆盖预留)允许您为 FlexVol 卷中预留了空间的 LUN 和文件关闭覆盖预留。这可以帮助您最大限度地提高存储利用率,但是如果您的环境因空间不足导致写入操作失败而受到严重影响,则您必须了解此配置的各项要求。

预留百分比设置以百分比形式表示;有效值只有 0% 和 100%。预留百分比设置是卷的属性。

将预留百分比设置为0可以提高存储利用率。但是,访问卷中数据的应用程序在卷空间不足的情况下可能会遇到数据中断错误,即使在卷保证设置为volume的情况下也一样。然而,通过正确配置和使用卷,您可以将写入失败的可能性降至最低。ONTAP 可以为预留百分比设置为0的卷提供“尽力确保最佳结果”写入保证,前提是满足以下所有要求:

请注意,如果您的更改率较高,则 Snapshot 副本自动删除有时有可能跟不上进度,从而导致卷空间不足,即使使用了以上所有必要的配置设置也一样。

此外,您还可以选择使用卷自动增长功能降低需要自动删除卷 Snapshot 副本的可能性。如果您启用自动增长功能,则必须监控关联聚合中的可用空间。如果聚合变得足够满,使得卷无法增长,则随着卷中的可用空间耗尽,可能会删除更多的 Snapshot 副本。

如果您无法满足以上所有配置要求,并且需要确保卷不会出现空间不足的情况,则必须将卷的预留百分比设置为100。这需要预先准备更多的可用空间,但是可以保证即使使用了上面列出的技术,数据修改操作也能成功。

预留百分比设置的默认值和允许值视卷保证而定:

卷保证 默认的预留百分比 允许值
100 0、100
0 0、100

Considerations for setting fractional reserve

Fractional reserve, also called LUN overwrite reserve, enables you to turn off overwrite reserve for space-reserved LUNs and files in a FlexVol volume. This can help you maximize your storage utilization, but if your environment is negatively affected by write operations failing due to lack of space, you must understand the requirements that this configuration imposes.

The fractional reserve setting is expressed as a percentage; the only valid values are 0 and 100 percent. The fractional reserve setting is an attribute of the volume.

Setting fractional reserve to 0 increases your storage utilization. However, an application accessing data residing in the volume could experience a data outage if the volume is out of free space, even with the volume guarantee set to volume. With proper volume configuration and use, however, you can minimize the chance of writes failing. ONTAP provides a "best effort" write guarantee for volumes with fractional reserve set to 0 when all of the following requirements are met:

Note that if your rate of change is high, in rare cases the Snapshot copy automatic deletion could fall behind, resulting in the volume running out of space, even with all of the above required configuration settings in use.

In addition, you can optionally use the volume autogrow capability to decrease the likelihood of volume Snapshot copies needing to be deleted automatically. If you enable the autogrow capability, you must monitor the free space in the associated aggregate. If the aggregate becomes full enough that the volume is prevented from growing, more Snapshot copies will probably be deleted as the free space in the volume is depleted.

If you cannot meet all of the above configuration requirements and you need to ensure that the volume does not run out of space, you must set the volume's fractional reserve setting to 100. This requires more free space up front, but guarantees that data modification operations will succeed even when the technologies listed above are in use.

The default value and allowed values for the fractional reserve setting depend on the guarantee of the volume:

Volume guarantee Default fractional reserve Allowed values
Volume 100 0, 100
None 0 0, 100