Removing a file system

Depending on your deployment plan, client activity, and overall system performance, you might need to remove a file system from the NAS Bridge.

Before you begin

All of the clients must be unmounted from the NFS exports or SMB shares exposed by the file system.

About this task

To remove a file system from the NAS Bridge, you must first unmount it. Unmounting a file system makes it unavailable to clients, but does not delete the StorageGRID bucket or modify the files in the bucket. You cannot remount a file system after you have unmounted it.

Steps

  1. Click Configuration at the top of the web page.
  2. Depending on the file system, click NFS Filesystems or SMB Filesystems.
  3. Select the row containing the file system you want to remove, and click Unmount.
    A confirmation dialog box is displayed, reminding you that you can no longer access the file system after it has been unmounted.
  4. Click Unmount to confirm your action.
    When the operation completes, the status of the file system changes to UNMOUNTED. The file system is flushed as part of the unmount operation; all of the data in the cache is written to the permanent object store.


    This image is described by the surrounding text.

  5. With the row still selected, click Remove.
    The file system is deleted and removed from the page.
  6. When you are finished, download a NAS Bridge recovery package.
    Attention: You should download a NAS Bridge recovery package whenever you make configuration changes or upgrade to a new version of NAS Bridge. Recovery packages from previous versions will not be valid.
    1. Go to Maintenance > Recovery Procedure .
    2. Click Generate Package.
    3. Select the package from the table, and click Download to download the package to your local workstation.
    4. Save the package to a safe location.

After you finish

After removing the file system, the StorageGRID bucket that had been associated with the file system still exists. If you add a new file system with the same bucket, the previous file data is retrieved and exported. However, if the file data is no longer needed, you should delete the bucket using a tool outside of NAS Bridge, such as an S3-compliant file browser.