什么是存储卷水印

StorageGRID 使用存储卷水印来监控存储节点上的可用空间量。如果节点上的可用空间量小于配置的水印设置,则会触发警报,以便您确定是否需要添加存储节点。

要查看存储卷水印的当前设置,请选择 Configuration > Storage Options > Overview


水印

下图显示了一个包含三个卷的存储节点,并显示了三个存储卷水印的相对位置。在每个存储节点中 StorageGRID 会在卷 0 上为对象元数据预留空间;该卷上的任何剩余空间将用于对象数据。所有其他卷仅用于对象数据,其中包括复制的副本和经过纠删编码的片段。


水印图

存储卷水印是系统范围的默认设置 StorageGRID ,表示存储节点中每个卷所需的最小可用空间量,以防止 StorageGRID 更改节点的读写行为或触发警报。请注意, StorageGRID 执行操作之前,所有卷都必须达到水印。如果某些卷的可用空间量超过所需的最小可用空间量,则不会触发警报,并且节点的读写行为也不会发生变化。

存储卷软只读水印( VHWM )

存储卷软只读水印是第一个用于指示节点的对象数据可用空间即将用尽的水印。此水印表示存储节点中的每个卷必须具有多少可用空间,才能防止节点进入 软只读模式。软只读模式表示存储节点向 StorageGRID 系统的其余部分公布只读服务,但满足所有待处理的写入请求。

如果每个卷上的可用空间量小于此水印的设置,则存储状态( SSTS )警报将在通知级别触发,并且存储节点将过渡到软只读模式。

例如,假设存储卷软只读水印设置为 10 GB ,这是其默认值。如果存储节点中每个卷上的可用空间不足 10 GB ,则在通知级别触发 SSTS 警报,并且存储节点将过渡到软只读模式。

存储卷硬只读水印( VROM )

下一个水印是 Storage Volume 硬只读水印,用于指示节点的对象数据可用空间正在变满。此水印表示存储节点中的每个卷必须具有多少可用空间,才能防止节点进入 硬只读模式。硬只读模式表示存储节点为只读,不再接受写入请求。

如果存储节点中每个卷上的可用空间量小于此水印的设置,则存储状态( SSTS )警报将在主要级别触发,而存储节点将过渡到硬只读模式。

例如,假设存储卷硬只读水印设置为 5 GB ,这是其默认值。如果存储节点中的每个存储卷上的可用空间不足 5 GB ,则在主要级别触发 SSTS 警报,并且存储节点将过渡到硬只读模式。

存储卷硬只读水印的值必须小于存储卷软只读水印的值。

存储卷读写水印( VLWM )

存储卷读写水印仅适用于已过渡到只读模式的存储节点。此水印用于确定何时允许存储节点重新变为读写状态。

例如,假设某个存储节点已过渡到硬只读模式。如果存储卷读写水印设置为 30 GB (默认值),则存储节点中每个存储卷上的可用空间必须从 5 GB 增加到 30 GB ,然后该节点才能重新变为读写状态。

存储卷读写水印的值必须大于存储卷软只读水印的值。

What Storage Volume watermarks are

StorageGRID uses Storage Volume watermarks to allow you to monitor the amount of usable space available on Storage Nodes. If the amount of space available on a node is less than a configured watermark setting, an alarm is triggered so that you can determine if you need to add Storage Nodes.

To view the current settings for the Storage Volume watermarks, select Configuration > Storage Options > Overview.


Watermarks

The following figure represents a Storage Node that has three volumes and shows the relative position of the three Storage Volume watermarks. Within each Storage Node, StorageGRID reserves space on volume 0 for object metadata; any remaining space on that volume is used for object data. All other volumes are used exclusively for object data, which includes replicated copies and erasure-coded fragments.


Watermarks diagram

The Storage Volume watermarks are system-wide defaults that indicate the minimum amount of free space required on each volume in the Storage Node to prevent StorageGRID from changing the node's read-write behavior or triggering an alarm. Note that all volumes must reach the watermark before StorageGRID takes action. If some volumes have more than the minimum required amount of free space, the alarm is not triggered and the node's read-write behavior does not change.

Storage Volume Soft Read-Only Watermark (VHWM)

The Storage Volume Soft Read-Only Watermark is the first watermark to indicate that a node's usable space for object data is becoming full. This watermark represents how much free space must exist on every volume in a Storage Node to prevent the node from going into "soft read-only mode." Soft read-only mode means that the Storage Node advertises read-only services to the rest of the StorageGRID system, but fulfills all pending write requests.

If the amount of free space on each volume is less than the setting of this watermark, the Storage Status (SSTS) alarm is trigged at the Notice level, and the Storage Node transitions to soft read-only mode.

For example, suppose the Storage Volume Soft Read-Only Watermark is set to 10 GB, which is its default value. If less than 10 GB of free space remains on each volume in the Storage Node, the SSTS alarm is triggered at the Notice level, and the Storage Node transitions to soft read-only mode.

Storage Volume Hard Read-Only Watermark (VROM)

The Storage Volume Hard Read-Only Watermark is the next watermark to indicate that a node's usable space for object data is becoming full. This watermark represents how much free space must exist on every volume in a Storage Node to prevent the node from going in to "hard read-only mode." Hard read-only mode means that the Storage Node is read-only and no longer accepts write requests.

If the amount of free space on every volume in a Storage Node is less than the setting of this watermark, the Storage Status (SSTS) alarm is trigged at the Major level, and the Storage Node transitions to hard read-only mode.

For example, suppose the Storage Volume Hard Read-Only Watermark is set to 5 GB, which is its default value. If less than 5 GB of free space remains on each storage volume in the Storage Node, the SSTS alarm is triggered at the Major level, and the Storage Node transitions to hard read-only mode.

The value of the Storage Volume Hard Read-Only Watermark must be less than the value of the Storage Volume Soft Read-Only Watermark.

Storage Volume Read-Write Watermark (VLWM)

The Storage Volume Read-Write Watermark only applies to Storage Nodes that have transitioned to read-only mode. This watermark determines when the Storage Node is allowed to become read-write again.

For example, suppose a Storage Node has transitioned to hard read-only mode. If the Storage Volume Read-Write Watermark is set to 30 GB (default), the free space on every storage volume in the Storage Node must increase from 5 GB to 30 GB before the node can become read-write again.

The value of the Storage Volume Read-Write Watermark must be greater than the value of the Storage Volume Soft Read-Only Watermark.