Considerations for removing a disconnected site

Before using the site decommission procedure to remove disconnected site, you must review the considerations.

When should I use this procedure

Use the site decommission procedure to permanently remove a failed data center site from the StorageGRID system. For example, you can use this procedure to permanently remove a site destroyed by a fire or flood.
Attention: Before performing this procedure, you must contact your NetApp account representative. NetApp will review your requirements before enabling the Decommission Site page.
Attention: Do not perform this procedure if you believe it might be possible to recover object data from the site. Instead, contact technical support to determine if a site recovery is possible.

What happens when you decommission a disconnected site

When you decommission a site, StorageGRID permanently removes all nodes at the site and the site itself from the StorageGRID system.

When the decommission procedure is complete:
  • You can no longer use StorageGRID to view or access the site or any of the nodes at the site.
  • You can no longer use any Erasure Coding profiles that referred to the site. During a site decommission, StorageGRID deactivates the affected Erasure Coding profiles and removes them from the ILM system.
  • You can no longer use StorageGRID to view or retrieve any object copies, erasure-coded fragments, or object metadata that were stored at the site. When StorageGRID performs this procedure, it makes no attempt to preserve any data from the disconnected site.
    Note: If your ILM rules and policy were designed to protect against the loss of a single site, copies of your objects still exist on the remaining sites.
  • If the site contained the only copy of an object, you will no longer be able to retrieve the object.

What are the limitations of this procedure

Before using this procedure, be aware of the following limitations:
  • You cannot decommission a site that includes the primary Admin Node.
  • You cannot decommission a site that includes an Archive Node.
  • You cannot decommission a site if any of the nodes have an interface that belongs to a high availability (HA) group. You must either edit the HA group to remove the node's interface or remove the entire HA group.
  • You cannot decommission a site if any node in the site is still connected to the grid. No node in the site can have a Connection State of Connected Icon Alert Green Checkmark on the Nodes > Overview tab.
  • Before you start this procedure, you must update your ILM configuration to remove all references to the site. Specifically:
    • You cannot decommission a site if the site is used in an Erasure Coding profile that is used in any ILM rule.
    • You cannot decommission a site if the site is used in a storage pool that is referred to by an ILM rule in the active ILM policy or any proposed ILM policy.

    The affected ILM rules and the general steps for updating ILM are listed on Step 2 of the Decommission Site page.

  • You cannot start the site decommission procedure if an EC data repair operation is in progress.
  • You cannot start any other maintenance procedure while the site decommission procedure is in progress.
  • You cannot pause the site decommission procedure.
  • You cannot decommission more than one site at a time.
  • If the site includes one or more Admin Nodes and single sign-on (SSO) is enabled for your StorageGRID system, you must remove all relying party trusts for the site from Active Directory Federation Services (AD FS).