Step 3: Perform the decommission

From Step 3 (Decommission) of the Decommission Site page, you can start the decommission procedure and monitor the progress as the site is removed. Any Erasure Coding profiles that refer to the site are also deactivated and removed.

Procedure

  1. At the bottom of Step 2 (Review) of the Decommission Site page, enter the provisioning passphrase.
    The Start Decommission button is enabled.
  2. Click Start Decommission.
    A Warning dialog box appears.
    Decommission Site Warning
  3. Review the warning, and click OK.
    The decommission procedure starts. A new grid configuration is generated, which might take some time.

    Decommission Site Grid Configuration

    When the grid configuration is complete, the procedure progresses through various stages, including Disable External Services, Certificate Revocation, and Storage Grade Unregister. A new Recovery Package is generated for the grid configuration change.


    Decommission Site Recovery Package
  4. As soon as the new Recovery Package is available, click the link or select Maintenance > Recovery Package to access the Recovery Package page. Then, download the .zip file.
    See the instructions for downloading the Recovery Package.
    Note: Download the Recovery Package as soon as possible to ensure you can recover your grid if something goes wrong during the decommission procedure.
  5. Periodically monitor the Decommission Site page to ensure that the selected site is decommissioned successfully.
    After all nodes reach the Completed stage, the configuration and clustering settings for all decommissioned nodes are removed, which might take some time.
    Decommission Site Step 3 Clustering Settings

    When the procedure is complete, the Decommission Site page shows a success message, and the removed site no longer appears.


    Decommission Site Success Message

After you finish

Complete these steps after you complete the site decommission procedure: