Managing role-based account access Edit on GitHub

You can assign administrative roles to user accounts to grant administrative privileges to selected users for one or more services.

Assigning administrative roles to user accounts

You can assign the following roles to users:

  • Global Tenant: Grants administrative privileges to all services, storage target, and license updates (renewal/upgrade).

  • Exchange Administrator: Grants administrative privileges to Microsoft Exchange Online only. Other services cannot be viewed or modified.

  • OneDrive Administrator: Grants administrative privileges to Microsoft OneDrive for Business only. Other services cannot be viewed or modified.

  • SharePoint Administrator: Grants administrative privileges to Microsoft SharePoint Online only. Other services cannot be viewed or modified.

Steps
  1. Click your user ID in the top left of the screen.

  2. Select My Account from the drop-down menu.

  3. Click the User Management tab.

  4. Click the Screenshot of icon clicked to display user role options icon.

  5. Click the drop-down menu to select the role.
    You can assign one or more roles to a user.

  6. Click Confirm.

Updating administrative roles assigned to user accounts

If an update is made to a user’s administrative roles, the user is automatically logged out of SaaS Backup for Office 365. When the user logs back in, administrative role updates are reflected in the user’s account.

Steps
  1. Click your user ID in the top left of the screen.

  2. Select My Account from the drop-down menu.

  3. Click the User Management tab.

  4. Click Screenshot of edit icon next to the user name that you want to update.

  5. Click the drop-down menu to select the role.
    You can assign one or more roles to a user.

  6. Click Confirm.

Deleting all administrative roles from a user account

If all administrative roles are deleted from a user’s account, the user is automatically logged out of SaaS Backup for Office 365.

Steps
  1. Click your user ID in the top left of the screen.

  2. Select My Account from the drop-down menu.

  3. Click the User Management tab.

  4. Click Screenshot of delete icon next to the user name that you want to remove.

  5. Click Yes.