根-数据分区

每个节点必须具有存储系统配置文件的根聚合。根聚合具有 RAID 类型的数据聚合。

RAID-DP 类型的根聚合通常包含一个数据磁盘和两个奇偶校验磁盘。如果系统已为聚合中的每个 RAID 组预留两个磁盘作为奇偶校验磁盘,则需要为存储系统文件支付大量“奇偶校验费用”

根-数据分区功能通过跨磁盘分区分配根聚合,在每个磁盘上保留一个小分区作为根分区,并为数据创建一个大分区,从而减少奇偶校验费用。



如图所示,用于存储根聚合的磁盘数量越多,根分区越小。一种名为根-数据-数据分区的根-数据分区也是如此,该功能创建一个小分区作为根分区,并为数据创建两个大小相同的大分区。



这两种类型的根-数据分区功能是 ONTAP 高级驱动器分区 (ADP) 功能的一部分。二者在出厂时已进行配置:根-数据分区功能适用于入门级 FAS2xxx、FAS9000、FAS8200、FAS80xx 和 AFF 系统,根-数据-数据分区功能仅适用于 AFF 系统。

Root-data partitioning

Every node must have a root aggregate for storage system configuration files. The root aggregate has the RAID type of the data aggregate.

A root aggregate of type RAID-DP typically consists of one data disk and two parity disks. That's a significant "parity tax" to pay for storage system files, when the system is already reserving two disks as parity disks for each RAID group in the aggregate.

Root-data partitioning reduces the parity tax by apportioning the root aggregate across disk partitions, reserving one small partition on each disk as the root partition and one large partition for data.



As the illustration suggests, the more disks used to store the root aggregate, the smaller the root partition. That's also the case for a form of root-data partitioning called root-data-data partitioning, which creates one small partition as the root partition and two larger, equally sized partitions for data.



Both types of root-data partitioning are part of the ONTAP Advanced Drive Partitioning (ADP) feature. Both are configured at the factory: root-data partitioning for entry-level FAS2xxx, FAS9000, FAS8200, FAS80xx and AFF systems, root-data-data partitioning for AFF systems only.