了解 SAN 卷

ONTAP 提供了三个基本的卷配置选项:厚配置、精简配置和半厚配置。每个选项使用不同的方式管理卷空间以及 ONTAP 块共享技术的空间要求。通过了解这些选项的工作原理,您可以选择最适合自身环境的选项。

注:建议不要将 SAN LUN 和 NAS 共享置于同一个 FlexVol 卷。

您应专门为 SAN LUN 配置单独的 FlexVol 卷,专门为 NAS 共享配置单独的 FlexVol 卷。这简化了管理和复制部署以及与Active IQ Unified Manager(以前称为 OnCommand Unified Manager)

卷精简配置

创建精简配置卷时,ONTAP 不会在创建该卷时额外预留任何空间。数据写入该卷时,该卷将从聚合中请求所需的存储以供写入操作使用。通过使用精简配置卷,您可以过量使用聚合,这可能会导致该卷在聚合耗尽可用空间时无法保证提供所需的空间。

可通过将 -space-guarantee 选项设置为 none 来创建精简配置的 FlexVol 卷。

卷厚配置

创建厚配置卷时,ONTAP 将从聚合中留出足够的空间,以确保能够随时写入到卷中的任何块。如果将卷配置为采用厚配置,则可以使用任一 ONTAP 存储效率功能(例如数据压缩和重复数据删除)来缓解前期较高的存储需求。

可通过将 -space-slo(服务级别目标)选项设置为 thick 来创建厚配置的 FlexVol 卷。

卷半厚配置

创建采用半厚配置的卷时,ONTAP 将根据卷大小从聚合中留出一定的存储空间。如果由于块共享技术使用块而使卷用尽可用空间,则 ONTAP 将尽力删除保护数据对象(Snapshot 副本、FlexClone 文件和 LUN),以释放其占用的空间。只要 ONTAP 可以足够快地删除保护数据对象,为覆盖提供所需的空间,写入操作就可以成功完成。这称为“尽力确保最佳结果”写入保证。

注:您不能对采用半厚配置的卷使用重复数据删除、数据压缩和数据缩减等存储效率技术。

可通过将 -space-slo(服务级别目标)选项设置为 semi-thick 来创建半厚配置的 FlexVol 卷。

使用预留空间的文件和 LUN

预留空间的文件或 LUN 是指在创建时会分配存储的文件或 LUN。过去,NetApp 使用“精简配置 LUN” 一词表示已禁用空间预留的 LUN(未预留空间的 LUN)。

注:未预留空间的文件通常并不指“精简配置的文件”

下表总结了对预留空间的文件和 LUN 使用上述三个卷配置选项的主要区别:

卷配置 LUN/文件空间预留 覆盖 保护数据2 存储效率3
支持 保证1 保证 支持
精简 无影响 保证 支持
半厚 支持 尽力确保最佳结果1 尽力确保最佳结果 不支持

说明

  1. 若要保证覆盖或提供尽力确保最佳结果覆盖保证,则需在 LUN 或文件上启用空间预留。
  2. 保护数据包括 Snapshot 副本以及标记为自动删除的 FlexClone 文件和 LUN(备份克隆)。
  3. 存储效率包括重复数据删除、压缩、任何未标记为自动删除的 FlexClone 文件和 LUN(活动克隆)以及 FlexClone 子文件(用于副本卸载)。

对 SCSI 精简配置 LUN 的支持

ONTAP 支持 T10 SCSI 精简配置 LUN 以及 NetApp 精简配置 LUN。主机应用程序可以通过 T10 SCSI 精简配置使用一系列 SCSI 功能,其中包括适用于块环境的 LUN 空间回收和 LUN 空间监控功能。SCSI 主机软件必须支持 T10 SCSI 精简配置。

可以使用 ONTAP space-allocation 设置对 LUN 启用/禁用 T10 精简配置支持。可以使用 ONTAP space-allocation enable 设置对 LUN 启用 T10 SCSI 精简配置。

有关对 LUN 启用/禁用 T10 精简配置支持以及启用 T10 SCSI 精简配置的更多信息,请参见《ONTAP 命令参考手册》中的 [-space-allocation {enabled|disabled}] 命令。

ONTAP 9 命令

Understanding SAN volumes

ONTAP provides three basic volume provisioning options: thick provisioning, thin provisioning, and semi-thick provisioning. Each option uses different ways to manage the volume space and the space requirements for ONTAP block sharing technologies. Understanding how the options work enables you to choose the best option for your environment.

Note: Putting SAN LUNs and NAS shares in the same FlexVol volume is not recommended.

You should provision separate FlexVol volumes specifically for your SAN LUNs and you should provision separate FlexVol volumes specifically to your NAS shares. This simplifies management and replication deployments and parallels the way FlexVol volumes are supported in Active IQ Unified Manager (formerly OnCommand Unified Manager).

Thin provisioning for volumes

When a thinly provisioned volume is created, ONTAP does not reserve any extra space when the volume is created. As data is written to the volume, the volume requests the storage it needs from the aggregate to accommodate the write operation. Using thin-provisioned volumes enables you to overcommit your aggregate, which introduces the possibility of the volume not being able to secure the space it needs when the aggregate runs out of free space.

You create a thin-provisioned FlexVol volume by setting its -space-guarantee option to none.

Thick provisioning for volumes

When a thick-provisioned volume is created, ONTAP sets aside enough storage from the aggregate to ensure that any block in the volume can be written to at any time. When you configure a volume to use thick provisioning, you can employ any of the ONTAP storage efficiency capabilities, such as compression and deduplication, to offset the larger upfront storage requirements.

You create a thick-provisioned FlexVol volume by setting its -space-slo (service level objective) option to thick.

Semi-thick provisioning for volumes

When a volume using semi-thick provisioning is created, ONTAP sets aside storage space from the aggregate to account for the volume size. If the volume is running out of free space because blocks are in use by block-sharing technologies, ONTAP makes an effort to delete protection data objects (Snapshot copies and FlexClone files and LUNs) to free up the space they are holding. As long as ONTAP can delete the protection data objects fast enough to keep pace with the space required for overwrites, the write operations continue to succeed. This is called a "best effort" write guarantee.

Note: You cannot employ storage efficiency technologies such as deduplication, compression, and compaction on a volume that is using semi-thick provisioning.

You create a semi-thick-provisioned FlexVol volume by setting its -space-slo (service level objective) option to semi-thick.

Use with space-reserved files and LUNs

A space-reserved file or LUN is one for which storage is allocated when it is created. Historically, NetApp has used the term "thin-provisioned LUN" to mean a LUN for which space reservation is disabled (a non-space-reserved LUN).

Note: Non-space-reserved files are not generally referred to as "thin-provisioned files."

The following table summarizes the major differences in how the three volume provisioning options can be used with space-reserved files and LUNs:

Volume provisioning LUN/file space reservation Overwrites Protection data2 Storage efficiency3
Thick Supported Guaranteed1 Guaranteed Supported
Thin No effect None Guaranteed Supported
Semi-thick Supported Best effort1 Best effort Not supported

Notes

  1. The ability to guarantee overwrites or provide a best-effort overwrite assurance requires that space reservation is enabled on the LUN or file.
  2. Protection data includes Snapshot copies, and FlexClone files and LUNs marked for automatic deletion (backup clones).
  3. Storage efficiency includes deduplication, compression, any FlexClone files and LUNs not marked for automatic deletion (active clones), and FlexClone subfiles (used for Copy Offload).

Support for SCSI thin-provisioned LUNs

ONTAP supports T10 SCSI thin-provisioned LUNs as well as NetApp thin-provisioned LUNs. T10 SCSI thin provisioning enables host applications to support SCSI features including LUN space reclamation and LUN space monitoring capabilities for blocks environments. T10 SCSI thin provisioning must be supported by your SCSI host software.

You use the ONTAP space-allocation setting to enable/disable support for the T10 thin provisioning on a LUN. You use the ONTAP space-allocation enable setting to enable T10 SCSI thin provisioning on a LUN.

The [-space-allocation {enabled|disabled}] command in the ONTAP Command Reference Manual has more information to enable/disable support for the T10 thin provisioning and to enable T10 SCSI thin provisioning on a LUN.

ONTAP 9 commands