Clear storage array configuration

Use the Clear Configuration operation when you want to delete all the pools, volume groups, volumes, host definitions, and host assignments from the storage array.

Before you begin

Before clearing the storage array configuration, back up the data.

About this task

There are two Clear Storage Array Configuration options:

  • Volume — Typically, you might use the Volume option to reconfigure a test storage array as a production storage array. For example, you might configure a storage array for testing, and then, when you are done testing, remove the test configuration and set up the storage array for a production environment.

  • Storage Array — Typically, you might use the Storage Array option to move a storage array to another department or group. For example, you might be using a storage array in Engineering, and now Engineering is getting a new storage array, so you want to move the current storage array to Administration where it will be reconfigured.

    The Storage Array option deletes some additional settings.

Volume Storage Array

Deletes pools and volume groups

X

X

Deletes volumes

X

X

Deletes hosts and host clusters

X

X

Deletes host assignments

X

X

Deletes storage array name

X

Resets storage array cache settings to default

X

Caution

Risk of data loss — This operation deletes all data from your storage array. (It does not do a secure erase.) You cannot cancel this operation after it starts. Perform this operation only when instructed to do so by technical support.

Steps
  1. Select Settings  System.

  2. Select Clear Storage Array Configuration.

  3. In the drop-down list, select either Volume or Storage Array.

  4. Optional: If you want to save the configuration (not the data), use the links in the dialog box.

  5. Confirm that you want to perform the operation.

Results
  • The current configuration is deleted, destroying all existing data on the storage array.

  • All drives are unassigned.