Skip to main content
SANtricity software

Delete a snapshot group in SANtricity System Manager

Contributors netapp-driley netapp-jolieg

You delete a snapshot group when you want to permanently delete its data and remove it from the system. Deleting a snapshot group reclaims reserved capacity for reuse in the pool or volume group.

About this task

When a snapshot group is deleted, all snapshot images in the group also are deleted.

Steps
  1. From the left panel, select Storage › Reserved capacity.

  2. Select the snapshot group that you want to delete, and then click the ellipsis icon › Delete.

    The Confirm Delete Snapshot Group dialog box appears.

  3. Type delete to confirm.

Results

System Manager performs the following actions:

  • Deletes all snapshot images associated with the snapshot group.

  • Disables any snapshot volumes associated with the snapshot group's images.

  • Deletes the reserved capacity that exists for the snapshot group.