Prepare Snapshot copies before reverting

Download PDF of this page

Before reverting to an earlier ONTAP release, you must disable all Snapshot copy policies and delete any Snapshot copies that were created after upgrading to the current release.

If you are reverting in a SnapMirror environment, you must first have deleted the following mirror relationships:

  • All load-sharing mirror relationships

  • Any data protection mirror relationships that were created in ONTAP 8.3.x

  • All data protection mirror relationships if the cluster was re-created in ONTAP 8.3.x

    1. Disable Snapshot copy policies for all data SVMs: volume snapshot policy modify -vserver * -enabled false

    2. Disable Snapshot copy policies for each node’s aggregates:

      1. Identify the node’s aggregates by using the run-nodenodenameaggr status command.

      2. Disable the Snapshot copy policy for each aggregate: run -node nodename aggr options aggr_name nosnap on

      3. Repeat this step for each remaining node.

    3. Disable Snapshot copy policies for each node’s root volume:

      1. Identify the node’s root volume by using the run-nodenodenamevol status command.

        You identify the root volume by the word root in the Options column of the vol status command output.

        vs1::> run -node node1 vol status
        
                 Volume State           Status            Options
                   vol0 online          raid_dp, flex     root, nvfail=on
                                        64-bit
      2. Disable the Snapshot copy policy on the root volume: run -node nodename vol options root_volume_name nosnap on

      3. Repeat this step for each remaining node.

    4. Delete all Snapshot copies that were created after upgrading to the current release:

      1. Set the privilege level to advanced: set -privilege advanced

      2. Disable the snapshots:snapshot policy modify -vserver * -enabled false

      3. Delete the node’s newer-version Snapshot copies: volume snapshot prepare-for-revert -node nodename

        This command deletes the newer-version Snapshot copies on each data volume, root aggregate, and root volume.

        If any Snapshot copies cannot be deleted, the command fails and notifies you of any required actions you must take before the Snapshot copies can be deleted. You must complete the required actions and then rerun the volume snapshot prepare-for-revert command before proceeding to the next step.

        cluster1::*> volume snapshot prepare-for-revert -node node1
        
        Warning: This command will delete all Snapshot copies that have the format used by the current version of ONTAP. It will fail if any Snapshot copy polices are enabled, or
                 if any Snapshot copies have an owner. Continue? {y|n}: y
      4. Verify that the Snapshot copies have been deleted: volume snapshot show -node nodename

        If any newer-version Snapshot copies remain, force them to be deleted: volume snapshot delete {-fs-version 9.0 -node nodename -is-constituent true} -ignore-owners -force

      5. Repeat this step c for each remaining node.

      6. Return to the admin privilege level: set -privilege admin

    You must perform these steps on both the clusters in MetroCluster configuration.