Supported S3 storage classes and regions Edit on GitHub Request doc changes

Contributors netapp-bcammett

Cloud Tiering supports two S3 storage classes and most regions.

Supported S3 storage classes

When you set up data tiering on a cluster, you can choose the S3 Standard storage class or the Standard-Infrequent Access storage class. If you choose Standard-Infrequent, inactive data starts in the Standard storage class and transitions to Standard-Infrequent Access, if the data is not accessed after 30 days.

Supported AWS regions

Cloud Tiering supports the following AWS regions.

Asia Pacific

  • Mumbai

  • Seoul

  • Singapore

  • Sydney

  • Tokyo


  • Frankfurt

  • Ireland

  • London

  • Paris

  • Stockholm

North America

  • Canada Central

  • GovCloud (US-West) – starting with ONTAP 9.3

  • US East (N. Virginia)

  • US East (Ohio)

  • US West (N. California)

  • US West (Oregon)

South America

  • São Paulo