Purge a volume

Contributors Download PDF of this page

When a volume is purged, it is permanently removed from the system. All data in the volume is lost.

The system automatically purges deleted volumes eight hours after deletion. However, if you want to purge a volume before the scheduled time, you can do so.

Note If you purge a large number of volumes at one time, or if the volumes you purge each have many associated snapshots, the purge process might fail and return the error "xDBConnectionLoss", which would appear in the API log in the Element web UI. If this happens, retry the purge again with fewer volumes.
  1. Select Management > Volumes.

  2. Click the Deleted button.

  3. Perform the steps to purge a single volume or multiple volumes.

    Option

    Steps

    Purge a single volume

    1. Click the Actions icon for the volume you want to purge.

    2. Click Purge.

    3. Confirm the action.

    Purge multiple volumes

    1. Select the volumes you want to purge.

    2. Click Bulk Actions.

    3. In the resulting menu, select Purge.

    4. Confirm the action.