Delete pool or volume group

You can delete a pool or volume group to create more unassigned capacity, which you can reconfigure to meet your application storage needs.

Before you begin
  • You must have backed up the data on all of the volumes in the pool or volume group.

  • You must have stopped all input/output (I/O).

  • You must unmount any file systems on the volumes.

  • You must have deleted any mirror relationships in the pool or volume group.

  • You must have stopped any volume copy operation in progress for the pool or volume group.

  • The pool or volume group must not be participating in an asynchronous mirroring operation.

  • The drives in the volume group must not have a persistent reservation.

Steps
  1. From the Manage page, select the storage array with the pool or volume group.

  2. Select Provisioning  Configure Pools and Volume Groups.

  3. Select one pool or volume group from the list.

    You can select only one pool or volume group at a time. Scroll down the list to see additional pools or volume groups.

  4. Select Uncommon Tasks  Delete and confirm.

Results

The system performs the following actions:

  • Deletes all of the data in the pool or volume group.

  • Deletes all the drives associated with the pool or volume group.

  • Unassigns the associated drives, which allows you to reuse them in new or existing pools or volume groups.