Skip to main content
ONTAP 7-Mode Transition

ESXi versions and features supported for SAN transitions using 7MTT


Only certain versions and features of ESXi are supported for SAN transitions using the 7-Mode Transition Tool (7MTT).

The following versions and features are supported as listed in the NetApp Interoperability Matrix Tool

  • ESXi 5.0, 5.1, 5.5, and later

    You must upgrade hosts running ESX/ESXi 4.x or earlier to ESX/ESXi 5.0 or later to transition them.

  • VMFS3 and VMFS5 datastores

  • SAN boot configurations

  • RDM (RAW device map) devices

  • All Guest OS supported in the Interoperability Matrix

  • All SAN protocols (FC/FCoE/iSCSI)